I am ashamed to say that I have been living abroad for two and a half years and just set up a blog 10 minutes ago. Honestly, I can’t even believe I had enough courage to follow my dream and move. I believe that was the hardest thing I have ever done; however, it has been the best choice I have ever made.

Most of my family and friends are on various social networks and I didn’t see the point of having a blog. We keep in touch throughout the year and I visit during the summer. Recently, I realized my family and friends will never come visit me nor share my experiences. They will never see the amazing things I see, experience daily living frustrations, or learn what it is like to live in an international city. We no longer vacation in the same cities, have the same hobbies, or talk as often.  I feel our different experiences are making us become different people. My life is so different from theirs and I don’t think they understand it. Maybe through this blog they will begin to understand why I want to live abroad and the experiences have changed me into a stronger person.

I not only want to share my written experiences with my family and friends, but also have a way to document my international experiences for me to recall years from now when I may be too busy to remember them.

